krotanalytics.blogg.se

How to use joytokey for a sidewinder
How to use joytokey for a sidewinder












how to use joytokey for a sidewinder
  1. #How to use joytokey for a sidewinder how to#
  2. #How to use joytokey for a sidewinder drivers#
  3. #How to use joytokey for a sidewinder software#
  4. #How to use joytokey for a sidewinder Pc#
  5. #How to use joytokey for a sidewinder plus#

Second off, with the keyboard being basically inaccesible I had to do some remapping of my mouse bindings to get everything I needed to play in a semi-convenient spot I could reach. Even back then I had mixed feeling about it, to be honest, and here's why:įirst off, that stick I used occupied quite a bit of space on my not very large desktop. The reason being that I was more used to these arcade sticks instead of WASD for movement at the time. I tried playing doom with a madcatz fightstick some time ago. I have never seen or met anyone who used joysticks to play classic DOOM. Keyboard + mouse really give an unmatched combination of precision and speed/reaction. Even in ordinary IWAD maps, each encounter became almost as hard as a Doom 3 one O_oĭoom cannot be played efficiently with small, precise inputs and controls with (relatively) large and slow physical inputs. Maybe good for a leisurely Jetranger flight in Microsoft Flight Sim X, not so good for circlestrafing Revenants in slaughtermaps. In practice, this was really awkward and clunky to use and not suited to the pace of the game at all. The outcome? Well, in theory you did have complete and very precise control over everything.

#How to use joytokey for a sidewinder plus#

Plus there were a lot of buttons and triggers to map to common actions. I once tried to map a flight sim stick to ZDoom, pretty much using helicopter-like mappings: the stick was the cyclic, the rudder controlled yaw, and the throttle (!) controlled view pitch.

#How to use joytokey for a sidewinder how to#

Though it would take me FOREVER to figure out how to control it properly, I'm so used to my keyboard :')

how to use joytokey for a sidewinder

That's a thing you can do? I have a modern joystick that I bought for a flight sim game, I wonder if I could use it to play doom.

#How to use joytokey for a sidewinder drivers#

The concept of a PSX "dual shock" controller with analog inputs and shoulder buttons didn't really exist when Doom was first released, and even if it did, it would have to be supported through external drivers somehow (maybe using Doom's obscure control API). 4 buttons and 4 possible directions on the D-pad weren't really enough to map to all possible functions or play smoothly. In any case, I once tried playing Doom II with a (digital) Quickshot 4-button gamepad for the gameport. More complex controllers like Microsoft Sidewinder for flight sims used either custom gameport protocols or combined gameport/RS-232 inputs, and needed special drivers and/or specific support from a game to be taken advantage of.

#How to use joytokey for a sidewinder software#

There were some more exotic RS-232 and parallel port joysticks as well, but good luck finding software that supported them. The IBM PCjr and the Tandy computers used their own custom, incompatible style of ports.

#How to use joytokey for a sidewinder Pc#

The 9-pin "Atari" style joysticks were never natively supported on the IBM PC compatibles, though adapters did exist. In general the ones built-in into sound cards were better than any "onboard" ones because at least they were fully implemented (4 axes, 4 buttons). I thought that most sound cards came with a standard (for PCs, anyway) 15-pin analog joystick port or "game port", which also doubled as a MIDI port. The main problem with joysticks? Fixed max turning speed. On older PCs, the sound cards used to have 9-pin joystick ports on them! Nowadays you'd go USB, or they make a 15-pin to USB adapter.

how to use joytokey for a sidewinder

Also if I am on the right track, which program for mapping gamepad buttons to the keyboard is best? It really was a piece of cake to work with and it works pretty cool except that it doesn't appear to detect that my gamepad has two thumbsticks on it instead of one, which renders the right one useless.Īnyway, I'm just making this thread to ask if I'm going way ahead of myself by downloading one of these programs, and if there are simpler ways to play Doom with a gamepad. I tried one called JoyToKey because of how simple the programs layout was. There's a pretty good number of these type programs. So i dug out the controller and tried playing Doom with it again using a program like he described. It wasn't until recently that my cousin informed me about programs you can download that map buttons on your joystick/gamepad to keys on your keyboard. I plugged it in and was unfortunately unable to get it to function with prBoom or Odamex, however it seemed to work fine on Skulltag and GZDoom. I bought a PC Logitech F310 Gamepad (pictured below) a while ago at an electronics store and was excited to play Doom with a controller instead of my keyboard as I usually do.














How to use joytokey for a sidewinder